Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Fresh Choy & Mushroom Soup with Chunky Tofu

It is the third week of the New Year and I am still trying to stick to my resolution of eating healthier! Of course I said, trying because I don’t think I am eating healthy when I am eating out, so when I am at home I try to be careful. My character is such that it is hard for me to resist food, so when I am offered something to eat… I hardly say no.. as most of you know.. ergo my love for food!

This recipe is perfect for the hungry type, which is of course, my type! I am always hungry!! Having a bowl of this soup is quite filling, as it contains a lot of vegetables. There are two parts to making this soup, first part is the soup which is slowly boiled in the vegetable broth and then the second part which makes the soup chunky. So if you want a filling and hearty soup on this cold January night, as the snow has started falling again, this is a good option to reach for!! Hope you enjoy it!

Ingredients

1 Bunch Chinese Broccoli

500 grams Mushrooms

1 Carrot

2 Ribs Celery

1 Yellow Onion

3 Spring Onions

1 Sweet Chili Pepper

2 cups Vegetable Broth

3 Cups Water

1 inch Ginger grated

300 grams Tofu (firm)

1 Tbsp Oyster Sauce

1 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce

1 Tsp Cayenne Pepper

Method

Heat up some olive oil in a soup pot.

In the meantime chop up the vegetables.

Chinese broccoli florets

The Choy needs to be separated in two portions, using all the stalks and half the leaves to make the base for the soup. I kept the flowery looking bits for the second portion as well. It makes the soup look prettier!! 🙂

Chinese broccoli stalks

Sweat the onions, celery, carrots, pepper and the stalks of the Choy for a few minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

Stir in half the leaves of the Choy and stir fry for a few minutes.

Add in half the mushrooms.

soup

Add the broth & water and stir in the grated ginger. Then cover the pot and simmer for about half an hour.

Then take the soup out of the pot, put it through a blender to make a puree. Set aside.

In the same pot, heat some olive oil and toss in the tofu.  Stir for a few minutes and then add in the rest of the mushrooms and the Choy pieces. Toss the Oyster sauce with the vegetables.

mushroom and tofu in soup

Stir in the Cayenne pepper and then season with some more salt and pepper.

Add the pureed soup to the pot along with the Worcestershire sauce.

image of Chinese Brocoli & Mushroom Soup with Chunky Tofu

Let the soup combine all the flavours by simmering it for a further 10 minutes.

Serve immediately.

Soup with Chunky Tofu

Fresh Choy & Mushroom Soup with Chunky Tofu