Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

 

egg fried rice

Turkey bacon, chicken and egg fried rice

Bacon fried rice

I feel like it has been a long time since I wrote a post on rice, even though it is definitely one of my favourite things to eat! I know the bacon and egg sounds like breakfast, but I don’t think most people would eat this first thing in the morning!! I made this fried rice a few days ago for my hubby’s birthday dinner…. Wait before you call me a bad wife… I would like to point out that I offered to have a big party for him and he was not happy about it. He says he never liked celebrating his birthday… which is exactly the opposite of me!! I love it, when people make a fuss over my birthday… as long as they don’t ask me how old I am getting! 😉

So back to the rice, I asked him what he wanted to have for dinner, I would make him anything he wants, and he opted for fried rice. So I thought I would make the rice a little different to my usual recipes, so I added the bacon to the rice. They say bacon makes everything taste better! I used Turkey bacon and that worked well, so you don’t have to use the full fat version of bacon, to have yummy food! This rice is a fusion of different flavours, as most people would not add curry powder to their bacon! My husband absolutely loved his fried rice dinner, so I hope you enjoy it too!

Ingredients

1 ½ cup Rice

2 Eggs

3 Turkey Bacon slices (chopped)

1 Chicken Breast (Cooked)

1 Yellow Onion (chopped)

2 Spring Onions (chopped)

6 Garlic Cloves (minced)

1 cup Carrot (shredded)

1 Red Sweet Chili Pepper (chopped)

1 Yellow Sweet Chili Pepper (chopped)

1 cup Frozen Peas (thawed)

1 Tbsp Rice Wine Vinegar

1 Tbsp Oyster Sauce

½ Tsp Curry Powder

½ Tsp Red Chili flakes

½ Tsp Cumin Powder

Method

Put the rice in a pot with 2 cups of water. Cook till tender. Set aside in the fridge to cool.

Crack the eggs in a bowl and mix with a teaspoon of water.

Heat up a wok and add half a teaspoon of vegetable oil.

preparing eggs

Stir in the eggs and make a scramble. Take the eggs of the wok and set aside.

At this point the wok is probably sticky with egg residue, so I suggest adding a little oil and drop in the bacon pieces.

Fry the bacon for a few minutes until they have slightly browned.

turkey bacon frying

Add in the onions, fry for a few minutes and add in the garlic.

Then add in the carrot and stir fry till it softens.

Carrots, onions and peppers stir fry

Stir in the green onions and the peppers. Season with salt and pepper.

Add the peas & vinegar and stir fry the vegetables for a further few minutes.

Then add in the chicken, coat with the chili flakes, cumin and curry powder.

Add the oyster sauce and stir fry for another few minutes.

stirring in peas, chicken and rice

Slowly add in the rice, making sure to break up the clumps.

Once all the rice has been added and the rice has been mixed well with the rice, turn off the heat.

fried rice with bacon in wok

Add in the prepared eggs and stir to combine well with the rest of the ingredients.

Place the rice in a bowl and then turn it over on a plate, to make it look pretty to serve!

Serve garnished with fried onions and cilantro.

Bacon fried rice garnished with onions and cilantro

