Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Pan seared chicken drizzled with mustard sauce

Pan seared chicken drizzled with mustard sauce

Happy New Year everyone!! This is my first post of 2013! Hope everyone had a great New Year’s party and an amazing 2012!! 🙂

Now that the festivities have calmed down, I am looking down to my belly and seeing that it has expanded quite a lot. I mean not just bigger but I feel I have expanded sideways too! So of course I am trying to eat healthier.  These days I feel that I don’t get full as quickly as before the holiday season …Since during the season I had stuffed myself with food because it was all so delicious… but it also means I am still eating a lot more than usual. Gym has been closed a lot as well, so I thought I would moan a little about gaining weight in the past month.

I was pondering what I should start the new year with so  I decided on something delicious yet something that has options of being made with less calories. You know just in case, anyone feels like they have expanded sideways over the holidays just like I did! 😦

I have made this one a few times, and when I made this with cream instead of milk, yes the creaminess tasted better…. but right now, adding that many calories to my meal, is not a good option for me.  Also, it is your prerogative to use butter or margarine. I started this chicken off by searing it on the pan, and then making sure all the sides are seared, in order to seal in the flavor. Since it’s a big piece of meat we are not cooking the chicken completely on this grill, we finish it off in the oven. It took me about 50 mins for my chicken to cook, as they were approximately 360 grams each. Cook longer if you have bigger pieces!  Hope you enjoy it!

 

Chicken in mustard sauce

Ingredients

2 Chicken Breasts (with bones)

Potatoes, Carrots, Peppers & Zucchini (Or use any vegetables of your choice)

For the Marinade:

100 ml Evoo

1 Tsp Garlic Powder

½ Tsp Paprika

½ Tsp Black Pepper

Salt to taste

For the Sauce:

1 Tbsp Butter (or Margarine)

½ Tsp Mustard seeds

30 gm Mustard paste

90 ml White wine

200 ml fresh cream (or milk)

60 gm Parmesan cheese

Method

In an oven safe dish combine all the ingredients of the marinade section.

Wash and clean the chicken and take off the skin.

Make three deep slits on the meaty part of the breast.

marinate chicken breast

Marinate Chicken breasts with the marinade and keep aside for 5 mins. (Don’t throw away the marinade, we are going to use this pan & marinade to roast the vegetables as well)

Heat up a hot iron griddle.

Sear on all sides. Use a tong to rotate the pieces and  make sure all sides have the char grilled marks and have been properly browned.

Pan grilling chicken

While the chicken is browning chop up the vegetables and add to the marinade bowl.

To make sauce, melt the butter in a pan, add mustard seeds and crackle over a low flame. Add white wine and mustard paste, stirring to make a light sauce. Pour in fresh cream (or milk) and thicken with Parmesan cheese.

Picture3

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Once the chicken has browned, add it on top of the vegetables. Coat with half the prepared sauce.

cook in oven

Cover with foil and place chicken breasts in oven for 25 minutes. Foil helps the chicken from drying out.  Turn the chicken pieces over and then roast again for another 25 minutes. (Check chicken is done before taking out of the oven)

Serve drizzled with the rest of the sauce.

Chicken in mustard sauce

