Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Chicken & Bacon Udon Noodles Topped with sliced eggs, scallions and fried onions

Chicken & Bacon Udon Noodles Topped with sliced eggs, scallions and fried onions

This is the first time I made Udon Noodles at home, and I wanted to make a thick soup, so this recipe is actually a soup, but the kind that you eat with a fork. I am sure all of you have seen adverts where people quarrel over having the thick soup with a fork or a spoon.  I made this yesterday and both my husband and I ended up having it with a fork.

I made this with Turkey bacon but you can go ahead and make it with regular bacon! I don’t actually eat regular bacon, plus Turkey bacon has a lot less fat too!! This dish was rich and delicious because I made a broth from scratch instead of using the bullion cubes. I used fresh mushrooms but I also did use frozen vegetables, and I dont think there is anything is wrong with it, remember they were frozen at their peak ripeness and have not lost their goodness! Its all over the news today!

I have always ordered Udon Noodles at restaurant but wanted to have a go at making it myself, I do love my noodles and have made a lot of different kinds before. Plus I believe this is a kid friendly dish, as my nieces love this type of thing when we go out to eat. Hope you enjoy it!

Ps. I know I was supposed to do the shrimp in black bean sauce recipe, but I did not take enough pictures, but let me know if you still want me to add the recipe!

Udon Noodles with chicken, mushrooms, bacon

 Ingredients

Udon Noodles

3 Chicken Thighs

1 Onion (chopped)

2 Tbsp grated Ginger

2 Tbsp Crushed Garlic

1 Ltr Boiling Water

1 Tbsp Soy Sauce

1 Tsp Brown Sugar

1 Tbsp Sesame Oil

3 pieces Turkey Bacon

3 Scallions (chopped)

½ Cup Mushrooms (chopped)

1 Cup vegetables  of your choice ( I used  the frozen kind mix of baby corn, peppers and water chestnuts)

400g Udon Noodles

1 Tbsp Oyster Sauce

Salt & Pepper to taste

To Serve:

Sliced Eggs

Sliced Scallions (green parts)

Fried Onions

Method

The first thing to do is to make the broth. In a big soup pot, heat some vegetable oil.

Sweat the onion, half the garlic and ginger. Season with salt and pepper.

Sweating onions, garlic and ginger

Add the chicken pieces, sauté for a couple of minutes. Then add the boiling water and bring the mixture to a boil. Cover the pot and simmer for half an hour.

Then add the rest of the ginger, soy sauce and brown sugar. Mix it in thoroughly.

Then simmer for further 15 minutes.

Chicken broth from scratch

Turn the heat down and put the mixture in a blender.

In the same pot, add the bacon and the scallions.

Scallions, mushrooms and bacon

After the bacon has browned add the mushrooms, other vegetables and garlic.

Stir in the Oyster sauce and sauté for a further few minutes.

Then stir in the Noodles. Simmer for a further few minutes. Take it off the heat.

Udon noodles

 

Ladle the noodle dish onto bowls and serve topped with sliced eggs, scallions and fried onions.

Udon with chicken and bacon