Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I have always loved Mozzarella sticks, it always reminded me of my college times, but I avoid eating them too much out in the restaurants as they are deep fried. So when I am hankering for some Mozzarella sticks, I bake them instead. I have tried a few recipes and the one I am providing for you below, is a combination of those recipes, thus making it my favourite. My recipe uses regular Mozzarella cheese, the one you get in big blocks in supermarkets, but that does not mean string cheese cannot be used, as that is what most recipes call for after all! Plus I made my breadcrumbs out of my regular whole wheat bread, but you can use store bought ones. Plus I didn’t add salt because the Mozzarella already contains a lot of salt. I just tried to make it healthier! Hope you enjoy it!

image of Mozzarella sticks baked

Ingredients

125 grams Mozzarella cheese

1 egg

1 Tbsp Water/Milk

2 pieces of whole wheat bread

1 Tbsp whole wheat flour

1 Tsp Oregano (dried)

1 Tsp Parsley (dried)

½ Tsp Chili powder/Chili flakes

Method

First slice the mozzarella cheese into 8 pieces of  4” x ½” sticks.

(I had cut different sizes for this batch, that is why some of my sticks had the cheese oozing out!)

mozzarella cut into sticks

In a bowl crack the egg and stir in the milk or the water.

Tear up the pieces of the bread and put in a grinder to achieve crumbs.

Spicy bread crumb mixture

Add the the chili and the herbs to the grinder.

Mix the above mixture & the flour, in a bowl.

Dip the mozzarella sticks first in the egg mixture so that the bread crumbs will stick and then coat well with the bread crumbs.

Coating mozzarella sticks

Repeat with all the sticks, then put in the freezer for an hour or more if you have time.

After that, take it out and dip in the egg and bread crumb mixture.

Oven baked mozzarella sticks

Set the oven to bake at 400 F, bake on both sides and each time for 3-5 minutes. Check to see that the cheese does not ooze out! Even if it does, just eat it up, its delicious, that’s the advantage of being the chef!

Serve immediately with a dip of your choice.

