Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Image of Ginger chicken with asparagus

Ginger chicken with asparagus

Do you sometimes feel like you can eat all the food in the entire world? Yes I know that is very greedy, but sometimes I get so hungry that I want to eat sooo much! Yesterday was one of those days! In fact I was at the gym for a couple of hours, I did a Body Pump and a Body Combat class, and then while we were driving home all I could think was what I am going to eat. I do think about food a lot, but sometimes the feeling is a lot more domineering! So I was suggesting to my husband that we need to eat some Hakka Chinese or even pick up some KFC!! Yes I was that greedy and demanding! At the end the decision was to go home (since I am going out tonight) and make lots of food instead. I wanted to have some rice and some sort of Chinese chicken and some shrimps too. So I ended up make a couple of dishes : Ginger Chicken with Asparagus &  Shrimps, Broccoli and Mushrooms in Black Bean Sauce.  I will give you the Chicken recipe today and the next post will be the Shrimp one.

ginger chicken

Ginger chicken with steamed rice

Ingredients

4 Tsp Soy Sauce

1 Tbsp Rice Wine Vinegar

1 Tsp Sesame oil

1 Tbsp Minced Ginger

3 boneless skinless chicken breasts (chopped into bite-size pieces)

4 cloves crushed garlic

1 Large Onion

1 Tsp Red Chili flakes

½ Tsp Black Pepper

1 tablespoon oyster sauce

1 Lb fresh Asparagus

1 Tsp Brown Sugar (optional)

¼ Cup grated fresh Ginger

Method

In a bowl combine the (first 4 ingredients on the list) Soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, Sesame Oil and Ginger.

Marinate the chicken pieces in the prepared sauce and set aside.

Heat up a wok with some vegetable oil and brown the chicken.

While the chicken is browning, chop up the onion.

Then add the onion and the garlic to the wok.

Garlic crushed with a mortar and pestle

After a minute of stir frying add the chili flakes and the black pepper. Stir fry for a further few minutes.

In the meantime cut the asparagus stems, taking off the woody stalk ends, and cutting each asparagus into three portions.

Add the asparagus along with the Oyster Sauce into the wok and stir fry. Then add some water and close the lid to steam the asparagus for a few minutes.

At this point I tasted my sauce, and thought it was bit spicy so I added the brown sugar, but if you like it that spicy then leave the brown sugar alone.

Now stir in the freshly grated ginger and mix it well with the chicken. It is important that the ginger is fresh and grated, just gives the chicken a more juicy taste!

Stir for another minutes or so and then take it off the heat.

Serve with some steamed rice.

