Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Image of Oregano & sea salt old fashioned bread

Old fashioned flavoured bread

Old fashioned bread with oreganoNow that it’s Christmas eve, I thought I would post something a little bit different than the usual turkey, stuffing or pumpkin pie recipe. I make this old fashioned bread at home, and I thought this would be a good time to make a post on this bread.  My reason being,  imagine you are at home with all your family and you run out of bread, and it being Christmas all the shops are shut, so I thought if you had access to this recipe it would be a wonderful treat! You might think the opposite though, you might be thinking, I have got a ton of things to cook, why should I bother with making bread when it so readily available. I agree with you here too, but just in case you don’t have any bread this recipe is handy to keep especially since it only requires ingredients that are already in your pantry. This is an old fashioned bread recipe that I had acquired from food.com, quite a while back and tweaked some of the ingredients. In fact, while I write this post, I am having some of the bread with a nice salami and cheese….Hope you enjoy it too!

Ingredients

3 cups Organic Whole Wheat Flour

2 Tsp Baking powder

1 Tsp Sea salt

1 Tsp dried Oregano

1 cup milk

½ cup water

¼ cup Olive Oil

Method

Take a bowl and add the flour.

Mixing flour

Mix with baking powder, salt, oregano.

In a cup mix the water and milk.

Add the milk mixture and olive oil with the flour mixture.

Making bread dough

Stir with a spoon until there is no dry flour left and the mixture is dough like.

Knead a little bit with oiled hands and make it an oval shape. Place on a greased baking sheet.

crusty bread

Dip a bread knife in some flour and make an ‘X’ on the oval dough with the knife.

Bake for 38-40 minutes at 400°F.

Let it cool for about 10 minutes. Slice as thick/thin as you want and serve!

Baked bread

Baked bread

Baked bread