Tags

, , , , , ,

We are finally seeing signs of summer now, and it feels amazing to be heading out without a jacket. Over the past few weeks I have cooked so much but unfortunately have not had the time to blog about them because I was busy entertaining. In the last month I have had in- laws from Vancouver coming to stay with us, so instead of blogging I was busy entertaining, as all of you know… cooking is only part of entertaining! Before they came I just wanted to make sure the house was spotless as well right, so a little stressful, but I really got along with this aunt in law, so it was nice having her around. She is actually one of my favourite relatives from my husband’s family, she is so nice to me always buying me stuff!! Yes, yes it’s not like she is buying my love, but I can also sit down with her and chat to her for hours, which is not always easy to do with an elderly person! The following mutton curry is one of the things I made for her and she absolutely loved it, so I thought I would share it with all of you! Hope you like it! 🙂

Mutton with squash

Ingredients

500 gm Mutton Pieces

200 gm Long Squash

5-6 Garlic Cloves

1 Inch Ginger

1 Onion, chopped

1 Tbsp Red Chili flakes

1 Tbsp Poppy Seeds

½ Tsp Turmeric Powder

1 Cinnamon stick

4-5 Cloves

4-5 Green Cardamoms

1 can Coconut Milk

2 Tbsp  Tamarind Pulp

1 Tbsp Cilantro, chopped

Method

In a food processor, add the garlic and ginger and grind to a paste.

Marinate the mutton in the prepared paste for about 30 minutes.

Marinate meat with ginger and garlic

Heat up some oil in a Dutch oven. Add the whole spices, cinnamon, cloves and cardamom.

Stir fry for a minute till they sputter, then add in the dried coconut, poppy seeds and half the chopped onions.

Whole garam masala

Cook till onions brown. Cool and grind to a paste.

Grinding masala

In the same pot, add the rest of the onions.

Add the mutton, salt, prepared masala, chili flakes, turmeric and tamarind pulp. Sauté till cooked.

Mutton curry being cooked

Add the squash and coconut milk and simmer.

Mutton curry with coconut milk

Serve garnished with steamed rice or paratha.

