Tags

, , , , , , ,

red chicken curry

Hope everyone had a good Valentine’s Day. I had a nice romantic dinner with my husband what else did everyone get up to?

These days when I go to restaurants I try to order stuff that I don’t usually make at home and my husband doesn’t think  I should do that because I end up trying the weirdest things in restaurants, as he claims I can almost make anything at home. Well I guess that is an indirect compliment, but I am glad to receive one. Who else likes to try the unusual items on the menu?

Now I always apologize about not blogging sooner, I have actually been on holiday plus I am looking for a new job as along with working at the current one, so I have been super busy with all this stuff, therefore the long gap between my posts. When I don’t have a lot of time on my hands, then I make some easy comfort food for my house and therefore I thought I should share this one. As you know from previous posts I tend to enjoy making curry with chicken on bones, but you can use chicken breasts but just make sure you reduce the cooking time. The curry is enjoyed with rice or chappati or these days I like to have it with quinoa pilaf as well. Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

Ingredients

8 Large Skinless Chicken Thighs, chopped into 2 to 3 pieces

1 Tbsp Cumin seeds

4 Green Cardamoms

4 Cloves

1 Large Onion

1 inch Ginger

6-8 Garlic Cloves

1 Tbsp Cumin Powder

1 Tsp Coriander Powder

½ Tsp Chili Powder

1 Tsp Turmeric Powder

4 Large Tomatoes, chopped

2 Green Chilies

Salt to taste

Method

Wash the chicken pieces and pat dry with a kitchen towel. Set aside.

In a food processor add the onion, garlic and ginger and make into a thick paste and set aside.

Heat oil in a Dutch oven on medium heat.

cumin, cardamom

Add the cumin seeds and fry 1 minute until it sputters and then add the cardamoms and cloves. Fry for another minute.

Stir in the onion paste and fry for five to six minutes.

curry paste

In a bowl mix add all the powdered spices and a little water to make a paste. Drop into the Dutch oven and mix well and till it starts to form into thick curry sauce.

Now add tomatoes & green chilies and mix well.

Making indian curry paste

Then add the chicken pieces and coat with the spices.

The chicken and the curry paste needs to be combined with tongs so all the flavor gets inside the chicken pieces. Stir the chicken intermittently for about 10 minutes.

Infusing chicken with spices

Then add one cup of hot water. Add salt and mix well. Bring it to a boil.

Bring the heat down to medium and then cover the pot and allow the curry to simmer until the chicken is cooked.

Simmering curry

Stir in some cilantro and turn the heat off. Serve with rice or roti.

Related Links

http://www.sailusfood.com/2012/04/16/simple-chicken-curry-recipe/

https://yummyfoodmadeeasy.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/chicken-in-a-spicy-tomato-gravy/

http://www.sanjeevkapoor.com/tomato-chicken.aspx

