Tags

, , , , , , , ,

cheese scones

This is an easy recipe with minimal ingredients, that is perfect to whip up if you fancy something savoury for breakfast or just as a snack. I took a batch to my nieces’s birthday party last week and it was enjoyed by kids and adults alike. Some of the guests were eating these with hummus, and I tried one, you should too they go well together.

To make these scones, I use frozen butter as I think it is the easiest to use, because it is easy to grate  and the dough requires breaking the butter pieces apart or you are just trying to do that separately when the butter is cold and not frozen.

I understand that scones are called biscuits here in North America, but I like to call my creations scones since I am just used to calling them scones and can’t change because I live in a different county now. Regardless of what you want to call them, hope you enjoy my recipe! 🙂

cheese biscuits

 

Ingredients

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 Tbsp Sugar

3 Tsp Baking powder

1 Tsp Sea salt

6 Tbsp frozen butter

2 cups Cheddar (grated)

1 Tsp dried Rosemary

Method

In a large bowl add the flour, baking powder and salt. Mix well. Then add in the rosemary.

flour for biscuit

Grate the frozen butter.

Cut the butter into the flour mixture until it resembles coarse cornmeal.

butter and cheese

Now add the cheese and mix again.

Then slowly add in the milk.

milk and cheese

 

Mix to form a dough. Knead only 8-9 times.

Dust a work surface with flour and put the dough onto the floured surface.

making dough

Dust the top of the dough and your hands with flour, and roll the dough into 1 inch thick.

With a 2 inch cookie cutter cut out the dough into small scones.

Place parchment paper on a baking sheet.

Baking scones

Place cut out scones onto baking sheet, placing them about 1/2 inch apart.

Heat oven to 450 F.

Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until the top is golden brown.

cheese and rosemary biscuits

 

 

 

 

 

