Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Beef with spaghetti squash

I know that these days, everyone and their uncles are making spaghetti out of squash to lower their carb intake, but I would like to add my version to that list. It only takes a few ingredients and makes for a delicious lunch or dinner! I like it for dinner, as you know most of the nutritionist, say that you should eat your carbs as early as possible in the day! I know this is something most women would gladly adopt  into their diets! Yet, some men on the other hand, which includes my husband, need a supplementary carbohydrate to go with it. Yes, I try my best to feed my husband a less calorific & low carb diet, but he will make sure that he asks for extra rice or something else to go with it! So, I say to each their own! I love my food way too much, to always eat that extra healthy meal, so I usually give in to what tickles my fancy at that moment, which helps me not to overindulge at most times. I would love to know how the rest of you keep in shape and maintain a healthy diet, especially my fellow food bloggers?

 beef marinara

Ingredients

1 Spaghetti Squash

500g Beef, Minced

7-8 Cloves Garlic

1 Onion, chopped

1 Red Pepper, chopped

1 Cup Red Wine

1 Can Chopped Tomatoes

1 Tbsp Mustard

1 Tbsp Butter

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Handful of Fresh Basil, chopped

Method

Cut the squash in half and brush the flesh with olive oil and place on a baking sheet.

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Place flesh side down and roast for 50 minutes.

Cooking spaghetti squash

Remove from the oven and let rest until cool enough to handle. Then scoop out the seeds.

Take a small peeler or even a knife would work cause the skin is soft, and peel off the hard skin from the squash.

Turning squash into Spaghetti

Then take out the spaghetti strings, break them apart till they look like spaghetti and put them in a glass dish or bowl. Stir in the butter.

While the squash cooks, prepare the beef topping.

Heat up a pan with olive oil.

browning beef with garlic

 

Crush the garlic. Add it to the pan. Sauté till the garlic browns a little and the aroma arises from the pan.

Stir in the beef. Season with salt & pepper and fry till the meat is cooked through.

Now add in the chopped onions and red pepper. Sauté for a few minutes.

Then add in the red wine and cook the alcohol off. This should take a few minutes.

beef sauce prep

Now add in the tomatoes and bring the mixture to a boil. Then turn the heat down, cover and simmer for 30 -40 mins.

Just before you turn off the heat add in the basil leaves.

Serve the beef marinara on top of the prepared spaghetti squash and garnish with some basil leaves.

Spaghetti squash with beef

