Tags

, , , , , , ,

 

Oh Dear! I just realized that it has been over a month since I last published a post. So apologies, if you were expecting in the last 3 weeks. I was away on holiday in London, catching up with some family and old friends and now that I am back here I really do miss them a lot! If you have reading my blog for a while, you know that one of my most favourite things to eat is shrimps or prawns, call them as you please, they are the same thing. Here in North America I have noticed that people stick to calling them shrimps while in the UK, its mostly referred to as prawns. Today’s recipe which I made before I left for my holiday but did not have the chance to blog about it, features big juicy tiger prawns! First they are marinated in a yoghurt based marinade and then grilled on the stove top. Shrimps don’t take long to cook, you know they are done when the outside is pink and the inside has turned white, then you get to eat the nice firm juicy prawns! Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

Grilled shrimp in a pepper cilantro marinade

Ingredients

6 Tiger Prawns

½ Cup Buttermilk

1 Cup Fresh Cilantro

1 Sweet Orange/Yellow Pepper

5-6 Curry leaves

4-5 Garlic Cloves

½ Onion

1 Tsp Curry Powder

½ Tsp  Tsp Black Pepper

2 Tbsp Fresh Lemon Juice

Method

De-shell the prawns and remove veins from the back. But keep the tails intact.

Discard the shell and set aside.

deshelling shrimps

In a small food processor add the onion, sweet pepper, cilantro, curry leaves, garlic and lemon juice.  Pulse to a thick paste and then add in the buttermilk.

Marinade

Put the mixture in a glass dish. Then add in the curry powder and combine well.

Take the de-shelled shrimps and marinate with the mixture.

Let the shrimp marinate for at least a couple of hours.

grilling shrimps

Heat up a grill pan.

Add the shrimps and season with salt & black pepper.

Cook till they turn pink outside, about 5-8 minutes on each side, depending on the side of the shrimps.

Grilled shrimps

Put the shrimps  on a serving plate and Serve with some steamed rice.

