I know I keep on delaying each post, but this year I have been travelling quite a lot, so posts have suffered and been delayed in the process. Right now I am also not in Toronto, I am visiting my family in Bangladesh. The trip so far has been quite hectic, this is the first time I have come back here with my husband, so it’s a totally different experience as I have to deal with a lot of in- laws. I don’t want to bore you with the details, so I am going to start talking about the fish that I prepared back in Toronto. My next recipe will be something very authentic from Bangladesh, so make sure you check in!

When making this recipe or most fish recipes, it is best to use fresh fish. The way I got it from the grocery store it was mostly cleaned and scaled but I took it home and scaled away again. Then I rubbed with salt and lemon, which gives it a less of a fishy smell. Plus I asked it to be sliced in the middle at the bone skeleton, so you have two parts to the fish, and also this is where most of the flavouring will be placed. Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

Sea bream cooked in foil with tomato

Ingredients

1 Whole Sea Bream

3 Tbsp Evoo

1 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar

1 Tbsp Lemon Juice

1 Tbsp Soy Sauce

3 Cloves Garlic

1 inch Ginger

Small bunch Cilantro, leaves removed and chopped

1  Lemon (sliced in thin round circles)

1 ½ Tomato (sliced in thin round circles)

½ Onion (sliced in thin round circles)

1 inch Ginger

1 Tbsp Sesame Oil

Salt & Pepper to taste

Method

Scale fish then rub with salt and lemon.

Make three incisions on the top part of the skin.

Vinegar sauce with cilantro

In a small blender add the 2 Tbsp Evoo, Lemon juice, soy sauce, garlic, ginger, vinegar and cilantro and make it into a paste.

 

layering tomatoes and lemons

Put a little in the cavity of the fish and rub a little more into the slashes on the skin side.

Filling the cavity of the fish

Take a roasting dish and cover with foil. Layer with a few pieces of onions, lemons and tomatoes.

 

In the middle part add the lemon, onion and tomato slices. Season with Salt & Pepper.

fish in foil to roast

Rub the rest of the oil all over the fish. Add the fish to the roasting tin and cover tightly with foil. (If you want to have a steamed fish, then make the foil into a tent)

Pre- heat oven to 400F.

Then roast for 20 – 25 minutes until the fish flakes easily with a fork.

Sea bream with tomatoes and lemons

To serve: Chop up some green onions and ginger into matchsticks. Then heat up some sesame oil and drizzle over the fish, which will make the fish sizzle!!

