Shrimps with Broccoli & Pepeprs

Pesto sauce being simmered

 

I love eating Pasta! But I do try to keep it a minimum, because of all the carb content does not really help my waistline. And when I do eat pasta, I try to eat the whole wheat or the semolina versions! This recipe uses pasta made out of spelt, so I don’t feel as guilty when I am gobbling down my food! Pesto is one of my favourite sauces to make as well, and there are so many ways you can create a Pesto! This one is made the classic way, which is basil! I had a lot of basil, so I used half of the sauce for this dish and the rest of it got frozen!

I know I said classic Pesto, which usually contains pine nuts, but my recipe does not contain any nuts, I have used extra Parmesan and garlic! So great for people who are allergic to nuts, but cannot eat the other pesto! My recipe uses some mustard as well, as I like the way it kind of thickens up the sauce, as it acts as an emulsifier, so I don’t need to use flour. Plus I made this with shrimp, but after making the sauce, you can easily use it to make some chicken pesto pasta! I have added some vegetables to the pasta for extra zest! Hope you enjoy it!

Shrimp in pesto sauce with penne pasta

Ingredients

500 Grams Spelt Rigatoni Pasta

12 Pieces Tiger Prawns

1 Cup Chicken Broth

1 Tbsp Mustard

1 Onion (sliced)

¼ Head of Broccoli

3 Small Sweet Chili Peppers

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Pesto Sauce Ingredients

5 Cups Fresh Basil leaves

10 Cloves Garlic

1 Cup Parmesan cheese

1 Cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Salt & Pepper to taste

Method

Wash the basil leaves thoroughly and drain the water.

Take all the ingredients of the pesto sauce and put it through a blender. Blend to form a delicious green pesto sauce!

Making pesto without nuts

Bring water to boil in a pot, and cook according to the package directions. Drain and set aside.

In another skillet heat up some olive oil, and add the sliced onions. Sauté the onions till they are soft.

Add the vegetables with the shrimps/prawns to the pan, season with salt & pepper and cook till the shrimps are no longer pink.

shrimp and broccoli

Now add in half the prepared pesto sauce with the chicken broth to the pan.

Mix it well with the vegetables and add the mustard and stir well again.

Then add in the pasta. Mix well so that all the pesto sauce, shrimps and vegetables are coated with the pasta.

Rigatoni with shrimps in pesto ssauce

Serve in a bowl then Go outside and enjoy the pasta in the sunshine, now that we can finally sit outside again! 🙂

