Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Lamb chop in tomato sauce over Macaroni & Cheese

Lamb chop cooked in a tomato sauce served over Macaroni & Cheese

I was not such a big fan of lamb when I used to live in England… I always thought there would be a distinct smell (a smell I did not appreciate) to it when it was not cooked properly. Since I moved to Canada I seem to appreciate lamb a lot more, because it seems to be more uncommon to find compared to England. I am not saying that it is hard to find lamb, but beef in Canada is a lot more readily available than lamb. Also, lamb is quite a lot more expensive to buy than beef.

I found some lamb shoulder chops in the grocery and they looked delicious and was very reasonably priced!! So I picked them up a couple of times, and I made this by pan frying the chops first and then cooking it slowly in a sensational tomato sauce. This sauce is perfect served over some pasta! I served it over Mac& Cheese once and another time on Spinach flavoured linguine! So you know it will be a great sauce over any pasta! This only has a few ingredients and is simple to make, but when the lamb gets simmered in this sauce you will get a nice tangy, finger licking sauce! Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

Ingredients

4 Lamb shoulder chops

¼ Cup Olive Oil

750 ml Tomatoes (big can of crushed tomatoes)

1 Garlic bulb (yes the whole bulb, peeled and chopped)

¼ Cup Dried Parsley

½ Tsp Red Chili Flakes

2 Carrots (peeled and chopped)

2 Yellow Onions (peeled and chopped)

1 ½ Cup Chicken Broth

1 Cup Red Wine

Salt & Pepper to taste

Pasta of your choice

Method

In large bowl add olive oil salt and pepper, coat the lamb chops well with this.

lamb shoulder chop grill pan

Heat up a grill pan or a large sauté pan fry the lamb chops till they have browned on both sides. (The large pan is a better option despite my picture, as the juices stay in the pan and you cook the sauce in this pan, this picture is from the first time I made this, and the other times I did not take pictures)

After the lamb chops have browned, take them out of the pan. Heat a little bit more olive oil in the same pan.

garlic onion parsley

Add the onions and sauté till they start to brown. Then add in the garlic and parsley.

Sauté for a few minutes and then add in the chopped carrots. Season with Salt & Pepper.

Then glaze the pan with the red wine.

Add the chicken broth and bring to a boil.

tomato sauce

Then add the crushed tomatoes and bring it to a boil again.

lamb in tomato sauce

Now add in the lamb chops and simmer on low heat for an hour.

At this point you may add some grated Parmesan to the pot, but it tastes good without it too!

Garnish with fresh parsley…Serve over your choice of pasta!

