Tags

, , , , , , ,

Roasted Tomato Soup

I have been trying to continue with my low carb diet, in preparation for my trip to Mexico. Some days I am much much better at the diet than others. I was at my cousin’s place last weekend, the diet went out the window, everytime  I am over there, I always over indulge. I am probably the only one who would eat biryani on a low carb diet, but it was oh…. so good.  So since I got back I have been trying to make some creative food, so that I don’t miss the carbs.

I had this soup as a main meal, but of course you can always just have it as an appetizer!! This recipe calls for the tomato and the garlic to be roasted before hand, so it takes a little bit of  preparation time. I was pleased with the results since it was so filling and delicious as well! Hope you enjoy it!

Ingredients

3 Large Fresh Tomatoes

1 Can Crushed Tomatoes (540 ml)

1 Garlic Bulb

1 Large Onion

3 Celery Ribs

1 Carrot

2 Cups Vegetable Broth

1 Tsp Thyme

1 Tsp Red Pepper Flakes

1  Cup Milk

1 Cup Parmesan

Salt & Pepper to taste

Method

Pre-heat oven to roast at 350 F.

Slice the fresh tomatoes in half. Take the garlic bulb, cut it in half and then chop off the top (no need to peel the garlic, we will do it after it gets roasted)

Place the tomatoes and garlic on a baking sheet, and roast for 1 hour.

roasting tomato and garlic

After it has been roasted, take it out and let it cool, while you chop up the rest of the fresh vegetables.

Heat up a soup pot, then add some olive oil. (Make sure to swirl around the olive oil so it coats the whole pot, to avoid burning)

Frresh vegetables in soup pot

Sauté the onions, celery and carrots for about 5 minutes with the thyme and chili flakes.

Add the 2 of the roasted tomatoes and all of the garlic (peel off the garlic skins first though). Stir to mix well.

Now add the canned tomatoes. Stir and cook till the vegetables are a bit soft.

tomato soup with vegetable

Then add the broth and 2 cups of water, and cook for 1 hour. Turn off the heat.

Put the mixture in a blender. You might need to do it in two batches.

Blending soup

Heat up the soup pot now, add in that one roasted tomato, so that there are some chunky bits in the soup.

Then add in the rest of the mixture. Stir in the Parmesan and milk. Cook for a further 5-10 mins. Turn off the heat.

tomato soup in bowl

Ladle into soup bowls and enjoy!

Roasted garlic and tomato soup

