Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The weather has been crazy, one day its 15° Celsius and the next day its -15° Celsius, and everyone seems to be getting ill, including me. I got up this morning with a baaaad sore throat and a very very stuffed nose, luckily no fever but I have been feeling very weak and down. I know that ginger tea with lemon and honey is quite common, but I make a tea that uses a few other spices and I definitely feel like it has helped me with some of my decongesting. Plus since the ingredients are all natural, this tea does not have any caffeine. Ideal to have as a night cap on a cold day when you crave a hot drink before you sleep. Hope it helps you!

Spiced Ginger tea

Ginger, cardamom, cinnamon, lemon and honey tea

Ingredients

4 Cups Water

1 inch Ginger

3 Cardamoms

2 Cinnamon Sticks (1cm each)

2 Cloves

¼ Lemon

1 Tbsp Honey (heaped)

Method

In a small pot bring the 4 cups of water to a boil.

Grate or peel slivers of the ginger to the boiling water.

ginger tea

Then add the cinnamon, cardamom and cloves.

Bring the mixture to another boil. Simmer on medium low heat for 10-15 minutes, or until you can smell the aromatic tea in the air.

Then squeeze the lemon juice into the pot. Add the honey.

If you fancy it sweeter, feel free to add more honey, I sometimes do!! 🙂

squeezing lemon in tea

Boil for another 5 minutes. Then take the pot off the heat.

Serve the tea by pouring it in a cup, through a strainer. And Enjoy!

teaPlease note the picture above still has all the spices and ginger pieces in there, which I did for the sole purpose of taking a nice picture!

