Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am so sorry that I have not made a post for so long!! I was away on holiday and as you know when you are not at home my fellow bloggers, it’s difficult to make a post.

The weather here has been wonderful, still lots of sunshine, well it maybe feels like that cause I just came back from jolly old England!! Everyone has been saying the weather is unusually good with no signs of the snow and some of the days even bearing double digits!! Today’s recipe is an inviting celery soup that is not too heavy and is perfect for this Fall/Winter period! I just got back to Canada a few days ago and I have not actually made any food that I have not blogged about, been tired and had to catch up on a lot of housework and errands.  So I actually made this soup before I went off to England, and I had to empty out my fridge! Even though my husband was not going on vacation with me, I knew he would never ever use up the raw ingredients in the fridge! Does this apply to anybody else’s husband?? So we had this soup for a couple of days before we left, which he thoroughly enjoyed! Hope you enjoy it too!

 

 Ingredients

6 Ribs Celery

2 Carrots

1 Large Onion

1 Tbsp Garlic(minced)

½ Head of Broccoli

4 Cups Chicken/Vegetable broth

2 Cups Hot water

1 Tbsp Oregano

1 Cup Fresh Cilantro

½ Cup Cheddar, shredded

½ Tsp Black Pepper

½ Tsp Red Pepper

1 Tbsp Butter

Method

Chop the celery, carrots and the onion.

Heat up a large soup pot and add some olive oil.

Image of Celery, carrots, garlic chopped

Celery, carrots, garlic

Add the chopped vegetables along with the garlic, oregano, black and red pepper and sauté till the vegetables have become translucent. No more than 10 minutes.

Add the broth & water then bring the mixture to a boil. Then simmer on medium heat for about half an hour.

Take the pot off the heat and add the cilantro. Let the mixture cool down and then put in blender along with the shredded cheese.

Now chop up the broccoli. Heat some butter and add the broccoli to the pot and sauté for a few minutes. Add the prepared soup mixture to the broccoli.

Simmer on low heat for another 10 – 15 minutes.

Serve hot with some crusty bread!

