Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Bibimbap

Bibimbap (Rice with vegetables & meat)

I love eating Korean food, and I thought I would try this out at home. This is the first time I made Bibimbap, and it was quite appreciated by my husband, so I thought I would share this with you all. Now I am not an authority on Bibimbap, so I have aptly named it Korean style, rather than claiming this is how all Bibimbaps are made. It is traditionally made in a stone pot, the closest thing I have got to that is a clay pot, but I cannot actually use my clay pot on the stove. As with most food, there are different ways of making them, so I have used my resources and pulled this dish together.

Image of Bibimbap without an egg

Bibimbap without an egg

The beauty of this dish is so that the meat & the vegetables are neatly arranged on the side of the rice, rather than one large stir fry. It is not hard to make, but it takes some organization and just be aware that you will need a lot of plates/bowls, because all the vegetables have to be prepared separately. Most Bibimbap plates have bean sprout, but I did not have any, even though I went to the grocery today but they seemed to have stopped stocking it! I was well disappointed but I thought I could always be creative, so you can see below the ingredients I have used. Plus I used brown rice, for a healthier option. Hope you like my version!

Ingredients

500 g Beef (thinly sliced)

1 Cup Rice

2 Cups spinach

1 small zucchini

1 small carrot

2 Cups Mushrooms

1 Cup Green Onions

½ Cucumber

1 Egg

Beef Marinade

¼ Cup Soy Sauce

2 Tbsp Onion Paste

2 Tbsp Garlic (finely chopped)

1 Tbsp Ginger (freshly grated)

2 Tbsp Toasted Sesame Oil

1 Tbsp Red Pepper

½ Tsp Black Pepper

1 Tbsp Honey

Method

Combine all the ingredients of the marinade together.

Marinate the beef in this marinate for at least one hour, but if you can, try to marinate overnight.

Cook the rice, keep warm and set aside.

While the rice is cooking, prepare the vegetables.

Cook the mushrooms with a little bit of garlic and set aside.

Sauté the spinach lightly with some garlic and sesame oil. Set aside.

Preparing vegetables

Chop the cucumber.

Sauté the green onions for a few minutes and combine with chopped cucumber. Set aside.

Grate the carrots and set aside.

Image of Cucumber, carrots, egg

Fry the egg.

Chop the zucchini into thin round slices.

When the beef is ready take it out of the fridge. Pan fry the marinated beef for a few minutes on each side, till they are cooked and nicely browned.

beef on grill pan

 

I added the zucchini to this pan, as well. (You can do this separately)

In a bowl, put the cooked rice in the middle and arrange the prepared meat and vegetables around it.

Image of Arranging bibimbap

Place the fried egg on top. Serve immediately!

