Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Image of Healthy Spinach & Mushroom Quiche

 Crustless Spinach & Mushroom Mini Quiche

Yesterday, I made these for my niece’s Birthday party and everyone thought they were simply delicious! The parents were delighted that they looked like cupcakes so the kids would be interested in eating them, but it would be feeding them spinach, so it was a big hit! Today, my cousin (of course my niece’s mom) sent me pictures of her kids having the quiche with some ketchup and said both of her kids had two each! You can see the proof below!

Kids gobbling up quiche

My niece gobbling up the quiche

I have said that these quiches are healthy because I did not use the crust which I believe is the most calorific part of the quiche. Yes, this recipe uses the regular cottage cheese and cream, but if you are on a calorie conscious diet, you can always substitute them for the lower fat versions. I would usually use the low fat versions myself, but since I was making them for a party I thought I would use the real thing. I have used cupcake liners but you don’t have to use them, as they turn out fine if you just grease the muffin tray. Just a gentle reminder though, that if you don’t grease the muffin tray then the quiche will stick to the trays.

These quiches can be eaten for breakfast or great served as appetizers. Have fun with them!

Ingredients

6 Large Eggs

1 ½ Cup Cottage Cheese

1 ½ Cup Shredded Cheddar

1 ½ Cup Spinach (chopped)

1 ½ Cup Mushrooms (chopped)

1  Cup Spring Onions (chopped)

1 Cup Cream

Salt, Black Pepper, Paprika (to taste)

Method

Heat a pan on medium heat, sauté the spring onions for a few minutes. Then add the mushrooms.

When the mushrooms have softened add the spinach and 1/3 of the cream. Season with salt, pepper, paprika and cook till the spinach wilts.

In a bowl add the eggs, both the cheese and the rest of the cream. Whisk it all together.

In a food processor add the egg mixture with the mushroom mixture and blend it all together. (This is done because then the taste of eggs is not too strong)

Line a muffin tray with cupcake liners or tinfoil liners. Grease them.

Ladle the mixture into the muffin tray.

Scatter some spring onions and shredded cheese on top of each quiche.

Bake at 360 F for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the quiche comes out clean.

Images of baking quiches

