Tags

, , , , , ,

Image of Spicy chicken and shrimp soup

Spicy chicken and shrimp soup

I have returned to Canada now, and it seems so quiet around here, despite the fact that there are contractors in my house! Bangladesh was so full of hustle and bustle, so many family members and people just milling around, makes Canada seem very calm. I have been very tired, recovering from my jet lag, so I am finally coming around to write a post.

I made this soup yesterday when it was raining. It was not cold at all, but since I got caught in the rain for a few minutes, I was thinking I want to go home and make some soup. This is the first time I have made this soup, as I was in the mood for something different. I opted for chicken and shrimp and I wanted it to be spicy, and was quite delighted with the results. It turned out to be a thick soup with delicious morsels. The only thing I would do differently next time is to chop my carrots into smaller pieces, so in the method section below, that is what I have advised. This recipe uses a lot of ginger, if you are not very fond of ginger, please go ahead and cut the amount of ginger in half. Hope you enjoy it!

Image of Spicy chicken & prawn soup

Ingredients

4 Chicken thighs (with bones)

8 Tiger Prawns (with shells)

3 Cups Fish Broth

2 Cups Water

2 Cups Mushrooms, chopped

1 ½ Cup Carrots, chopped

1 ½ Cup Leek, chopped

1 Cup Onion, chopped

2 Tbsp Ginger, minced

1 Tbsp Garlic, minced

1 Tbsp Creole Seasoning

1 Large Tomato

4 Green Chilies

Method

The first thing to do is to prepare the broth for the soup.

In a large pot, add the chicken thighs, leeks, garlic, ginger and 1/2 of the Creole Seasoning with the fish broth and the water. Bring to a boil and cook the chicken on medium heat for 30-35 minutes.

Slowly forming the broth for the soup

Slowly forming the broth for the soup

While its cooking, chop up the tomatoes and chilies, and put them in a blender to form a thick sauce.

Next add the shrimps to the pot and boil for a further 10 minutes.

Take out the chicken and shrimp pieces. Set aside to cool.

Add the carrots with half the tomato sauce, to the pot and cook till they are tender.

While the veggies are cooking, debone the chicken and de-shell the shrimps. Dice them and set aside.

cooking tomato, mushrooms, chicken

In a separate pan, heat oil and sauté the onions and the mushrooms with some garlic and the other half of the tomato sauce.

Toss in the chicken and shrimp pieces with the other half of the Creole Seasoning. Stir frequently and cook for a further 5 minutes.

Simmer the soup

Add this mixture to the soup pot.

Turn the heat down and simmer for a further 20 minutes.

Simmering soup

