Tags

, , , , , , ,

 

Lentil and onion fritters

Lentil and onion fritters

I am sorry for not adding a post for more than 10 days now!! It is because I am visiting Bangladesh and my family here has kept me very busy.  Its Ramadan time, so everyone is fasting which means I am not around food all day. But don’t  worry there is a LOT of food in the evenings!! I managed to sneak away for a while today and make a post on one of the most popular food items on everyone’s menu. Piyaju is a lentil and onion fritter which everyone has at Iftar time, so something everyone devours when they break their fast in the evenings. I have always said I am not a big fan of deep fried food but I had to add this since, Piyaju and Beguni (aubergine fritter, my next post) are to Ramadan in Bangladesh as what turkey is to Thanksgiving!!

Piyaju & Beguni

Ingredients

1 Cup Red Lentils

1 Large onion (chopped)

3 Chillies (chopped)

½  Tsp Turmeric powder

1 Tbsp Ginger Paste

1 Tbsp Coriander leaves (chopped)

1 Tbsp Chickpea Flour (optional)

Salt to taste

Method

Soak the lentils for 30 minutes and drain water thoroughly.

Place in a blender and make a coarse paste. (Do not over blend and make a smooth paste)

In a bowl, add the lentils with the chopped onions, ginger, coriander and the green chillies, mix well.

The mixture needs to be coarse, if it looks runny then add some of the chickpea flour.

Heat a pan on medium heat and add oil, get ready to deep fry the fritters.

Take a spoonful of the lentil mixture and drop it slowly in the hot oil. It is best to keep them small so I just use a teaspoon.

Take a teaspoon and push it into the pan with another spoon.

Repeat with the rest of the mixture. You will need to do this in batches as one pan will not fit all the fritters at one time, and it is best not to over crowd the pan.

Fry until golden brown.

Place on a plate lined with kitchen paper to drain any excess oil.

Serve hot and enjoy!

