Tags

, , , , , , ,

Most fried rice in restaurants are not cooked with brown rice, but as most of you know, I attempt to put a healthy twist to my cooking if possible. I love my white rice but of course I chose the brown because it is the healthier option, so I don’t feel so guilty about eating the fried rice.

Prawn fried rice

Shrimp fried rice

Ingredients

1 cup Brown Rice

300 grams Shrimps

2 Eggs

½ Cup Onions, chopped

1 Tsp Garlic, minced

1 Red Pepper

1 Cup Frozen peas, thawed

1 Tbsp Oyster

Salt & Pepper to taste

Method

Soak the brown rice in water for half an hour. Cook the rice, for 1 cup of brown rice I usually use 2 ½ cups of water.

Set aside in the fridge to cool down.

Crack the eggs in a bowl mix a tablespoon of water and whisk together.

Heat some oil in a wok, and scramble. Set aside.

In the same wok add the onions and garlic and fry for a minute.

Add the prawns and the pepper and stir fry till the prawns are almost cooked.

Add the peas and season with salt and pepper.

Stir in the rice and the oyster sauce.

Mix all the ingredients together by stir frying on high heat, till the rice has been heated through.

Serve with your choice of steamed vegetables or enjoy on its own.

