Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have called this Oregano baked chicken, because I feel like that is the most prominent flavor in this simple dish. I have concocted this recipe with a few others I have seen, and I like this one the best. This recipe is handy to have, especially if you have kids around, they love this! Plus, its easy to make, for those nights, you cannot stand around the stove, but still want a delicious meal!! I have used thigh pieces in this recipe, but breast meat would work just as fine, I would just reduce a little bit of the cooking time.

Image of Chicken flavoured with oregano and sour cream

Chicken flavoured with oregano and sour cream

Ingredients

800 grams Chicken

1 ½ cup Sour cream (low fat)

5 cloves Garlic, minced

1 Tbsp Cumin powder

2 cups Bread Crumbs (I used whole-wheat bread)

½ cup Grated Parmesan (optional)

2 Tbsp Oregano

½ Tbsp Red Pepper

Salt to Taste

Method

Marinate the chicken with the sour cream, garlic and cumin powder. Set aside for at least one hour.

Image of Sour cream chicken with oregano

Marinate, dip in breadcrumbs, bake

 

Pre-heat the oven to 200° Celsius (400 F).

In a bowl combine the bread crumbs, oregano, pepper, salt and Parmesan cheese. (If you don’t have bread crumbs, you can use crumbs from wheat crackers, they taste good!)

Lightly grease a baking pan.

Coat the chicken in the bread crumb mixture.

Place the chicken on the greased pan, in one single layer.                                                (Pour some melted butter over the chicken, if you fancy a heavier meal)

Bake for 45 minutes, turning once.

I served with salad, you can serve with mashed potatoes, rice or anything else you fancy.

