Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This meal came out of the need for using up some leftover Salmon pieces.  A few days ago I had a big piece of whole salmon, I could not use up the whole thing because of two reasons. First being that if I did make the whole thing, we would be eating fish for dinner for 3 days, and also the piece was too big to fit in my baking dish!! So I froze the leftover and used it to make this pasta, which is creamy yet spicy!

Most salmon pasta recipes I have seen, usually uses smoked salmon, I thought I would experiment with this instead.  I have used whole-wheat Rotini, but feel free to use any pasta you wish. My aim was to create a creamy pasta, but cream is not helpful for my waistline, so I used 2% milk instead. Plus the Cajun Spice I used is ‘Slap Ya Mamma’ brand, but you can make your own, as I have listed the ingredients on the package, as part of the recipe.

Please note that I did not add any additional salt, I thought the broth and the Cajun Spicing had enough salt, but you might want to add more salt, especially when marinating the fish. I am trying to reduce my sodium intake, so I keep it to a minimum.

Image of Cajun spiced salmon pasta

Image for Salmon pasta

Salmon pasta

Ingredients

2 Salmon fillets (skinless)

2 cups Spinach

2 Tbsp Cajun Spice (Salt, black pepper, red pepper and garlic)

2 Tbsp Olive oil

1 Onion, minced

¼ Cup Coriander, minced

8-10 Cloves Garlic

1 Tbsp Habanero Hot Sauce

1 Tsp Mustard

1 ½ Cup Fish broth

1 Cup Milk

1 Tbsp Flour

350 g Pasta

Method

Chop up the salmon and marinate it with 1 Tbsp olive oil, the Cajun spice, coriander and half the garlic. Set aside.

Image of Marinated salmon

Marinated salmon

In a pot, bring water to boil for the pasta. Cook according to directions. I also added ½ cup of the fish broth while boiling the pasta. This way I didn’t need to add salt, and the flavor infuses in the pasta while being cooked.

Heat the rest of the olive oil in a saucepan. Once hot add the salmon, in one single layer. Pan fry each side for a few minutes, till no longer pink.

Pan frying the salmon

Add the onions and fry for a few minutes, till the onions get soft.

Slowly add in half cup of the fish broth, and let it simmer for a few minutes.

Add flour; cook, stirring, for 1 minute.

Add in the spinach, rest of the garlic, the hot sauce and the mustard. Cook till the spinach wilts.

Slowly add in milk and the rest of the broth and simmer till the sauce thickens.

Adding the milk after the broth, the sauce turns into a beautiful saffron colour

Adding the milk after the broth, the sauce turns into a beautiful saffron colour

Drain the pasta, and add it to the sauce. Mix thoroughly.

Image of Salmon pasta being cooked

