Tags

, , , , , ,

I had some steak in my fridge that I had been waiting to serve for some guests. But unfortunately they were not able to come, so I decided to make this instead of just making a steak dinner. I got the inspiration from here.

The recipe had called for flank steak, but I used the ones I had, and it turned out yummy!  I also tweaked the recipe with my ingredients, so I thought I would share this one with you all. Plus I have family in Bangladesh who like reading my blog, so this would be something different for them.  Usually in Bangladesh when we make beef, it’s an absolute must that we use both garlic and ginger, so this recipe will most probably surprise people out there. My hubby being my harshest critic on my food, so I know from his reaction to the food, whether it is worth blogging about or not!!

Image of Pan seared beef with sautéed carrots, and steamed rice & cabbage

Pan seared beef with sautéed carrots, steamed cabbage & brown rice

Ingredients

4 Beef Steaks (150 grams each)

2 Tbsp Lemongrass paste

2 Tbsp Garlic, minced

1 Tbsp Fresh Coriander, minced

1 Tsp Black Pepper

1 Onion, chopped into small pieces

1 Tbsp Fish sauce

1 Tbsp Soy Sauce

1 Tsp Sugar

2 Tbsp Oil

Method

First the beef needs to be sliced up into thin strips against the grain. This is what I thought was the most tedious part of making this dish, the rest is all fun and easy!!

Slicing beef into thin strips

Slicing beef into thin strips

I know the picture is not very pretty, but raw meat is never beautiful, in my opinion.     Just remember to wash your hands with soap after every time you touch the raw meat.

In a bowl combine 1 Tbsp oil, garlic, lemon grass, sugar, pepper, coriander and the sauces. Mix well to make a marinade.

Image of Coating beef with marinade

Coat the beef with marinade

Toss the beef in the marinade and refrigerate for at least 1 hour. (Marinate longer, if you have the time)

In a wok, heat the other Tbsp of oil and add the onions. Stir fry till translucent.

Add the beef, and sear the beef on one side till cooked. Repeat with the other side. (Each side should take a few minutes)

Image of Pan searing the beef

Pan sear the beef

Serve with steamed cabbage, steamed rice or noodles.  If you wrap the cabbage around the beef, that makes you a tasty low carb meal! I also served with some sautéed carrots and spinach.

