Tags

, , , , , ,

Don’t let the name, Turkey with Noodles scare you!! Today I made this and I was well happy with how it turned out!!  Especially since, just Ramen noodles almost had the look of gourmet Pad Thai!! My in laws are still around, and I was not expecting to make any lunch for them today, but they could not go out as planned. First reason is quite depressing … the people they were supposed to go out with, their daughter had an accident while she was on her honeymoon in Cambodia! Fortunately she is still alive, but unfortunately, she and her husband are in the hospital. So my in laws were in the house, and wanted to go for a walk instead. When they do usually do that, they walk to the mall and have lunch there, but the weather was impossible today!! Too much rain!! So much so, that the Toronto subway shutdown because of the floods!! OK now I have started rambling!!

To get back to my recipe, so I made this Turkey noodle stir fry for the first time and as you can see from the picture, it was devoured before I could take any decent pictures!

Image of Turkey noodle stir fry

Turkey noodle stir fry

1 lb Ground Turkey

250 g Ramen Noodles

1 ½ cup Mushrooms

¼ Head of Broccoli

1 Tbsp Garlic, minced

1 Tbsp Ginger, minced

1 Tsp Curry powder

1 Onion, sliced

2 Tbsp Oyster Sauce

1 Tbsp Oil

1 Tbsp Fish Sauce

½ Cup Fresh Coriander

Heat a wok, and heat the oil. Add the onions and fry till they are translucent.

Add the minced ginger and garlic, fry for a further minute.

Next add the ground turkey with the curry powder, and stir fry till the meat is almost cooked.

Then add the mushrooms and the broccoli and stir fry for a few minutes.

Add the fish oil and 1 Tbsp Oyster sauce, stir fry again.  Then add half a cup of water and bring the mixture to a boil.

Ground Turkey with mushrooms and broccoli cooking on the wok

Ground Turkey with mushrooms and broccoli cooking on the wok

In the meantime, in a different pot, boil some water and add the Ramen, cook as directed on the package. I used a seafood flavoured Ramen.  250 grams is usually 2 packets.  I boiled the noodles with almost all the ingredients inside the pack. Since I had two packets and two soup bases, I used one to boil and the other one I kept aside to stir fry with the rest of the ingredients.

Drain the water from the noodles. Add noodles to the wok with the rest of the mixture. Also add the other flavor that you kept aside from the Ramen packet.

Add the fresh coriander.

Mix well and Stir fry for a few minutes. Serve immediately.

