Tags

, , , , , ,

Bhindi bhaji is a dry curry, which I make for my hubby all the time. Before I married him, I was never that interested in okra, but now every time he goes to the grocery store with me, he makes me get the okra.  I had tried different recipes but the recipe listed below “is the best one by far” says my hubby!

Ps. I know the picture below shows other food too, (which is a chicken kebab), its because this is a side dish. I served with paratha, salad and the kebab!

Image

Fried & Curried Okra (bhindi bhaji)

Ingredients

500 grams Bhindi (Okra)

1 Onion, diced

1 Tbsp ginger, minced

1 Tbsp garlic, minced

1 Tsp mustard seeds

1 Tsp Fennel seeds

1 Tsp Coriander powder

½ Tsp turmeric powder

½ Tsp Chili powder

½  Tsp Garam Masala

1 Tbsp Oil

Salt according to taste

Directions

Wash the okra and drain.

Wrap kitchen towel over the okra

Wrap kitchen towel over the okra

I usually put them in a colander to drain the water and then cover with a kitchen towel for about 1 hour to dry the bhindi. (Dry it longer and change the kitchen towel, if you have the time)

Chop the bhindi sparsely in circles. (Throw away the stalks)

Chopped okra

Chopped okra

Heat oil in a wok. Then add the mustard and the fennel seeds, and let them sputter.

Now add the onions, garlic and ginger and fry for a few minutes, till the onions get a bit brown.

Take the coriander, turmeric, garam masala and chili powders and add to the wok. If it sticks add a little bit of oil or water.

Add in the okra and combine well with the spices while you stir fry the combo.

Stir frying okra with spices

Stir frying okra with spices

Now cover the wok and cook on medium heat for 10 -15 mins or until the okra is cooked.

