Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Today, I read an article that says even if you diet just twice a week, you can lose weight.  I definitely want to shape up for summer.  So I am thinking of following the Atkins diet, and eat no carbs two days a week, so it’s not an unhealthy approach to losing weight!  I had this discussion with hubby, he agreed, but when it actually gets down to it, I really doubt that he will follow through.  So, the following is a carb free recipe that I made for dinner today, which I had on its own, and hubby dear had with a baguette!!

Plus one of my friends suggested that I should show step by step pictures of how I make the food! I cannot promise that for all my recipes, but I will do whenever possible!

Ingredients

500g lean ground turkey

1 egg

1/4 cup grated onion

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

2 tbsp parsley or coriander, minced

2 tbsp ginger, minced

2 tbsp garlic, minced

½ tsp Chili powder

4 cups chicken broth

2 ribs celery, sliced

1 large onion, coarsely chopped

1 carrot, coarsely chopped

1 tsp Creole Seasoning (optional)

½  tsp black pepper

½ tsp oregano

Spicy turkey soup

Spicy turkey soup

Directions
In a bowl, whisk together the minced turkey egg, grated onion, Parmesan cheese, parsley/ coriander, black pepper, chili powder and half the garlic and ginger. Form into a mixture, and take one tablespoon at a time and make into balls.

Turkey meatballs

Turkey meatballs on greased baking sheet

Bake on greased baking sheet in 400°F about 15 minutes.

In the meantime, heat up oil in a large pot and sauté the chopped onions, carrots and celery with the rest of garlic and ginger for a few minutes.

Onions, celery and carrots

Onions, celery and carrots with garlic and ginger

Then add the chicken broth and 1 cup of water and bring to a boil. Add the oregano and the creole seasoning and then simmer with the cover on, for about 20 mins.

Once the meatballs are done, add them to the soup and simmer for another 10 mins.

Turkey meatballs in soup

Turkey meatballs in soup

