Tags

, , , , , ,

I love potato salads, okay I like most potato dishes, be it fries or mashed potatoes. I used to make potato salad with yellow potatoes, then I discovered the red potatoes and how it tastes in a salad, especially with the skin on, as I discovered its actually nutritious.The potato, as well as the skin, are great sources of vitamin C, vitamin B6, copper, potassium, zinc, and protein. Leaving the skin intact can also help preserve the nutrients in the flesh of the potato, which have a tendency to escape during cooking.

Ingredients

1 lb Potatoes

2 Boiled eggs

1 Red Pepper

1/2 Stalk celery (thin slices)

1 Spring Onion

1/2 cup Mayonnaise

Salt & Pepper according to taste

Directions

Bring potatoes to a boil in a pot of salted water, till almost done. Then drain and put in the fridge to cool down. While the potatoes are cooling chop the boiled eggs, onion, pepper and celery into small cubes.

Once the potatoes have cooled, chop the potatoes into chunks, they should be larger than the cubes of the vegetables and eggs. Now combine the mayonnaise with everything and season to taste.

Please note that you can always add more mayonnaise if you want a more creamier salad.  Plus the amount of mayonnaise I eat, (which is a lot)  I have to always use low fat mayonnaise. Some people use yoghurt for their potato salad! You can try that, but I prefer mine with mayonnaise! 🙂

